Poets logo

MurderVerse

Florida

By David ParhamPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
MurderVerse
Photo by Keith Luke on Unsplash

Start writing...It wasn't my thing, this is ma talking

Your father had his heart set on a Florida retirement so I went along

On one condition

I know, he talked about it forever, This is me, Johnny

It felt like forever, the four years we were there.

What's not to like about 365 days of sunshine, ma?

This hurricane on the TV that's what

You dodged a bullet getting out from under that Fort Myers place

You can say that again

There's gotta be something you enjoyed

They have a lot of resturants.

You and dad never ate out when I was growing up

We were young and frugal, saving for a home and your college

And a Florida retirement, ma?

You be quiet, Florida my foot

Was it so bad watching dad enjoy himself

I didn't mind the 3 days he played golf or the 2 days he went fishing

What was it then

Being left alone

You couldn't play golf or buy yourself a fishing pole

I didn't care about those things, Johnny

What did you want then, ma

Sightseeing or maybe go on a cruise but the old man wasn't interested

So what did you do

I stopped cooking

That was the old man's wake-up call?

On the days he played golf he had to take me out to eat

Where

The Red lobster

Ever try that Hooter's place

Once, once was enough

Well you traded the Sunshine State for the Garden State

I didn't hate Florida, I hated that your dad found his old gangster friends

What friends?

Frankie, Jimmy, Melvin that whole crowd out of New York

Never met those guys

There was a lot about your dad you never knew.

Hey ma what was the condition you mentioned

That every October we see a show in New York then drive to New England to watch the leaves change

That was your only condition

Only one.

How about we drive up to Vermont next week and watch the leaves, ma?

Your a good boy, Johnny

On the way up you can fill me in on all the things I didn't know about dad

Sounds like a wonderful idea.

love poemsnature poetryslam poetryperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

David Parham

Writer, Filmmaker, Digital artist.

The ever Changing Complexities of Life, Fear, Mysteries and Capturing that which may not be there Tomorrow.

Complex, Change, Fear, Mystery, Tomorrow & Capture. Six reasons I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.