Poets logo

MurderVerse

The Poet

By David ParhamPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
MurderVerse
Photo by Prateek Katyal on Unsplash

Ray Wylie Hubbard: "You've got to have some scars if you wanna be a

poet." Song: Bad Trick.

I count my wounds.

Paul Simon: "I have my books And my poetry to protect me."

I Am a Rock.

I am reminded that writing is a solitary endeavor.

In this life, solitary is a destination.

And finally, Springsteen, in the 7th verse of Jungleland writes, "And

the poets down here don't write nothing at all, they just stand back and let

it all be."

'Was a time when the world made allowances for youthful indiscretions.

"Drinking warm beer" never got anyone locked up.

Nowadays social workers, want everyone sentenced to slow death.

Counseling, Rehab, Therapy.

Anything and everything is a condition; custom-made emotional turmoil.

Everyone wants to be the "Maximum Lawman."

Author's Note:

For this poem I quoted from Bruce Springsteen's Jungleland.

Paul Simon's, I Am a Rock.

Ray Wylie Hubbard's, Bad Trick.

I'm a fan of all three.

My soundtrack.

I'm a poet and a card-carrying member of the MurderVerse

My books and poetry will not protect

I'm beyond a Bad Trick

Writing keeps me sane

On the page, my life has a purpose

Consequences keep me alert.

The tooth of a fifteen-year-old girl rolls around my mouth.

A reminder of how cold-blooded I really am

To you all reading my words,

I, Like, Terry Stubbins, am just another rat, "over the Jersey state line."

celebritieslove poemsslam poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

David Parham

Writer, Filmmaker, Digital artist.

The ever Changing Complexities of Life, Fear, Mysteries and Capturing that which may not be there Tomorrow.

Complex, Change, Fear, Mystery, Tomorrow & Capture. Six reasons I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.