Poets logo

MurderVerse

We Need to Talk

By David ParhamPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
MurderVerse
Photo by Eiliv Aceron on Unsplash

She walked into the kitchen wearing flannel PJ's

We need to talk

About what?

She cracked two eggs in the frying pan

If you want to stop sleeping on the couch and snuggle in

next to me at night

Then we need to talk.

Okay, what's on your mind exactly,

A question mark in my voice

She said I think it's important that we're friends first

I agree, we've known each other for a long time

Since we were kids

I feel like I can depend on you

Thanks, I try. I thought of those hinges still needed oil

I feel safe with you when you're around.

I don't like it when your gone

I miss you too, more than you know

Are you in love?

Now a question mark in her voice

I'm physically attracted to you

That's not love, Johnny

Are you in love with me, Gina?

I feel like a middle-aged couple

Who can finish each other's sentences

I'm just really comfortable

With me?

Yeah.

With us.

I would like us to be us.

Like a couple

I feel like we already are

Where's that over-the-moon feeling then?

What is your major feeling?

Gina said, I'm just really comfortable

Safe

That's a good thing, right?

After Lucky and Martin, it's a very good thing

Two unstable souls.

Lucky had an uncontrollable gambling habit

I never knew how much money we were going to have

Week to week

Sometimes bills went unpaid

Martin was violent. I loved him and was afraid all at once

I just need to feel safe.

You need to feel safe before you can feel love

Do you think you can be patient with me?

I ain't going nowhere, Gina.

love poemsslam poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

David Parham

Writer, Filmmaker, Digital artist.

The ever Changing Complexities of Life, Fear, Mysteries and Capturing that which may not be there Tomorrow.

Complex, Change, Fear, Mystery, Tomorrow & Capture. Six reasons I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.