Poets logo

Moving Different

A poem

By Nailah RobinsonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Moving Different
Photo by Jorge Bermudez on Unsplash

Once I see your full of shit

I definitely start moving different

You might call it moving funny

But I just say, “I see you now, Honey”

‘Cause being cool with me does have its benefits

But I sprinkle them around to who I see fit

I don’t owe you shit

I make sure of it

But let me quit

‘Cause see you’ll never understand it

How I can be sweet one moment, then flip the switch

I’m not a bitch

But please don’t push me

I know what I know and I see what I see

Can you agree

I treat everybody the same

Until they show me their true name

I rest my case

And you’ve lost your claim

I never have to do anything for none

I do it because my heart is a big one

Then people think it’s cool to take advantage

Until they find out, I’m actually a sleeping savage

I’m really never trying to mean

But I was still molded by my momma and my daddy

Only people who really know them, knows what that means

And I got the best of both of them inside of me

Play with me if you want to

And you’ll get to know it too

They wasn’t always in the pulpit

Trust it

‘Cause once you show me you’re full of shit

Oh I most definitely start moving different

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Nailah Robinson

Author, Mother, Wife, Sister, Daughter, Cousin, Daughter In Law, Sister In Law, Friend, Grand Daughter, Niece, Teacher, and Student. I am so many things to so many people, but in the end, I'm just Nailah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Authorabout a year ago

    Beautiful. Big hug

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.