Poets logo

Mounster

A mousy voice of a monster within.

By DionGrio (Mak Wey) Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2022
20
"A rough start" by A. Hernandez

It bubbles deep beneath, seething, boiling, roiling to a dense and roaring cacophony.

A wall of sound, blocking out all reason, eradicating logic, feelings become like a tar;

Thick and unforgiving, and I am mired in that substance struggling to be free yet knowing that it is not within me nor in my power to be. The anger I feel is not my own but that of previous generations, a chain around my neck, weighing down my head, making me subservient to my iridescent masters with skin of snow and teeth like ivory. I speak their language and think their thoughts and the result is mere tolerance when what I require, crave, need is acceptance. An understanding that is deeper than what I have of myself, I desire from others; What foolishness! I am angry at myself for being so weak, for letting it happen, for letting them take a bold and righteous figure with the heart of a lion; King of the jungle, just and true with strength and wisdom, to be overcome with empty and baseless fear. Fear of thoughts both my own and especially those of my esteemed masters. What will they think of me? Will they judge me to be something I can not, will not be? Oh, what travesty! Oh, what shame! They have wrongly judged my name and my world is over...

Wait, I am still here. The judgment has fallen and I still exist; The monster is dwarfed by the faint yet vibrant truth that I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

I am what I am, no matter what thinking may precede, and the struggle to be understood falls far from need.

I can feel it even now, bellowing within me, yearning to be freed; Yet now I agree; Come out for awhile, let's talk, get to know one another, for better or for worse.

performance poetry
20

About the Creator

DionGrio (Mak Wey)

I'm the one griot; The angry O; The pondering O; The hungry O. I tell stories about things I know to be true and eternal; Stories that I hope will connect and move you to better understand the world and yourself as writing them did for me.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Whitney Bennett2 years ago

    Incredible flow of life! Words of life! Awesome journey into a nirvana like condition with words.

  • Abigail Esparza2 years ago

    Excellent work! Very well written…

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.