Poets logo

Motherland

Am I right?

By Esala GunathilakePublished 2 months ago 1 min read
10
Motherland
Photo by Tomáš Malík on Unsplash

You accepted me,

At the first sight of me,

You held me,

Since I was a newbie on this planet,

You affectionated me,

Like an elephant who protects one baby elephant,

You bore me,

You didn’t throw me to the ocean,

By saying “I can’t anymore”,

I call you “Motherland”,

Yeah! My prized motherland,

Who retains my spirit,

Thanks to you, I am not immobile,

I jump, run and dance,

All are done on your body,

The soil on you feeds me energy,

I know you are not angry,

When my feet are always on your body,

I know you don’t berate me,

When my wastes dirty your beauty,

But please forgive me,

I will be a breeze blow upon you,

To suppress your exhaustion,

I will be a shady cloud above you,

To alleviate you,

I will be a dewdrop that falls every morning,

To blow a kiss to you and fix my mind,

After my death.

So, motherland! You gave me everything every day but never received me. Let your ears listen to my poem soothingly. Reflectively, it soothes me!

how tonature poetrylove poemsinspirationalFree Verseart
10

About the Creator

Esala Gunathilake

I am an enthusiastic writer who feel the sense of humanity. Thus, I can write stanzas, short stories, novels, articles and blogs as well. I am a blog contributor for the Ananda College Engineer's Ink student chapter website.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mika Oka18 days ago

    Beautiful piece

  • This was so emotional! Loved your poem!

  • I can feel your real love on our mothrland Esala! I lived every single word... This is one the greatest tributes to our motherland in the history...

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Wow, this is so fabulous - a tribute to Mother Earth. ❣️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.