Poets logo

Mother Student

Shakespearean Sonnet

By Diani AlvarengaPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
2
Mother Student
Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

Rocks fall on my brain, being a student and mother.

I wonder if I will ever graduate, I feel lost sometimes.

My mother is insane, she thinks you deserve a brother.

How can she say that? I cannot deal with myself at times.

Studying peacefully can only be done at the library.

I wish I could bring you with me to my school,

but unfortunately, it’s not allowed. I never feel ready

like before; I worry more about you, it would be cruel

of me to leave you alone at home so I could come to class.

Despite the fog in my mind, I aim for a balance

between motherhood and education. Broken glass

is what I don’t want to feel like, I know it’s a challenge

to be a mother and a student, but that’s no reason to quit.

I need to get that degree. I want to inspire you to have grit.

Sonnet
2

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer2 months ago

    I loved every aspect of your sonnet so well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.