Poets logo

Mother’s Day

A Pagan Holiday That Ruins Relationships

By Mya FrancisPublished 12 months ago 2 min read
Like
Mother’s Day
Photo by Andrae Ricketts on Unsplash

A day that’s supposed to be about love and appreciation instead fills my mind with anxiety. Wondering what kind of gift to buy and if it will deliver in time is just too stressful entirely. “You didn’t ask me what I wanted” or “ You didn’t tell me Happy Mothers Day” haunts me. This pagan holiday is far too much than it’s gotta be. I can’t speak for all moms, but mine is only lovingly when you’re doing things financially. Her self worth is determined by a swipe of a card instead of the way you treat her when times are hard. Doesn’t matter if you always gave a shoulder to cry on or was always a person that she could rely on. If you didn’t get her what she wanted on Mother’s Day, you were treated as a disappointment who never appreciated her anyway. What’s even the point if in the end I get burned? A mothers love should never have to be earned. I didn’t ask to be here, I owe you nothing. Yet I’m jumping through hoops hoping you’d feel something. Through all the endless tears, I’ve chosen to forgive. Yet you remain the same in the way you live. No growing, accountability, or self awareness in sight. But I dare bring a late Mother’s Day gift and it becomes a fight.

Participating in this pagan holiday is a choice, there should be no obligations. Yet you speak with anger and pride of all your expectations. Months worth of progress on this mother-daughter relationship all ruined in an instant for a demonic holiday that has led us to be distant. I’m not the type to show my love through the gifts that I give you. I’m the type to wipe away your tears from the pain that you’ve been through. I won’t give you what you want, but I’ll do my best to give you what you need.

No, I won’t say “Happy Mothers Day”, but I will love you with all of me till your last day.

love poemsslam poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mya Francis

Hello to all my viewers, I have created this platform to share my life experiences of love, self care, growth, and spirituality. I hope you enjoy reading my poems as I continue my journey until the end.

One love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.