Poets logo

Mother/Grandmother's

Time In A Bottle - Kept As A Reminder Of The Good Times

By Cathy DeslippePublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Mother/Grandmother's
Photo by CDC on Unsplash

My grandmas were the sweetest they could be.

Loving, caring the neatest house to be.

Told me many stories, and made me laugh too.

One even taught me the rabbit, then I tied my shoe.

The other had cheery dough we cut and put on a sheet.

Yummy cookies, the best and looked rather neat.

My mom was much like her mom in many ways.

Talented, creative and loving every day.

Her joy in life was caring for everyone.

Her biggest love was Dad and how they enjoyed the sun.

As I look back and think about that time we had.

I wish I could have bottled it, for moments do get sad.

Life goes by as fast as you get up.

Coffee is on speed dial, already in your cup.

Capturing moments like I did when I was small.

Wishing I could bring them forward, life would be a ball.

By Claudio Schwarz on Unsplash

Family

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    "I wish I could have bottled it, for moments do get sad." Oh how I wish if this was possible! Loved your poem!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler5 months ago

    Cathy, this is charming and reminds me how unbelievably fast time flies. Lovely work!

Cathy DeslippeWritten by Cathy Deslippe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.