Poets logo

Mother Earth Wept

By Maha KadafourPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Mother Earth Wept
Photo by Toby Elliott on Unsplash

I first met Mother Earth at my favorite cafe,

In the outskirts of town, away from the fray.

She sat by the window, gazing into space.

She bewitched me with her serenity and grace,

Her face aglow with the rays of the sun,

A twinkle in her eyes rivaling stars,

Lips perfectly shaped, the color of Mars.

I couldn't break my gaze,

I orbited in her gravitational pull.

I tried to concoct a witty phrase,

To offer her my genuine praise.

But my words fell short of the mark,

So I surrendered to my failure to embark

On a literary journey to describe,

Mother Earth and her mystery to my tribe.

Instead, I chose to sit and observe,

Wondering if I could deduce,

On the canvas that lay before her,

What she planned to produce.

I have the time, I will wait,

To bear witness to her plans to create,

I wanted to capture this moment,

Before it's too late.

To see Mother Earth at her best,

An extraordinary sight to behold.

A fairy-tale story waiting to be told.

I saw Mother Earth at my favorite cafe,

In the outskirts of town, away from the fray.

I leapt with excitement, it's been so long,

Since I've seen this beauty at my favorite cafe.

My excitement decimated as soon as I saw,

Her face dulled with clouds of gray,

Her skin has changed; it's noticeably thin,

Age spots scattered between and within,

The creases of a tattered slate,

A shadow of what she once was.

Her silky blue robes, once vibrant and clear

Teeming with beautiful life seen and unseen

Now muddied and sullied, smeared with a thick black coat,

Covered and smothered with plastic and foil.

Looks like it's been a life of folly and toil.

Her body was battered and bruised,

Her spirit shattered beyond repair,

I looked on, bewildered by this

Unfathomable scene of despair.

She sat lifeless, blankly staring at her mug.

As if injected with a toxic drug,

Numbing her senses, starving her for air,

That she desperately needed to withstand,

The pain that visibly continued to expand.

Then tears emerged from her sunken eyes,

Drip, drip, drip they went.

Mother Earth Wept.

I broke my stare to mentally compare,

What lay before me and what once was.

I tried to determine the cause,

Of this shift in state.

I had no words to describe how I felt,

What a terrible hand she was dealt!

Her hardships left me in dismay,

So I ran out of my favorite cafe,

In the outskirts of town, away from the fray.

My heart broken for Mother Earth.

The fairy-tale story no longer holds true,

I couldn't imagine what she has gone through,

That scripted and etched into stone,

An irreversible horror that I was just shown.

I later heard the harrowing tale,

The sickening and wicked assail,

Of her children's disgrace,

And the exploits of her warm embrace.

Her selfless giving birthed thieves

Robbing her blind, only to please

Their personal agendas with no regard

To her sustainable needs.

She pleaded, she begged

Was thrown down and bled

She spoke words unheard

Falling on ears deafened

To her agony and plight.

She struggled and faltered,

Her love did not waver,

She mustered her strength,

As if possessed by the need,

To satisfy her children's insatiable greed.

She attempted to correct course,

But her children showed no remorse,

So she withdrew into darkness,

Softness and love now turned to hardness.

She reemerged wrathful and ruthless,

Recognizing that awareness was useless,

So power and fright will wake her children,

From their long and enduring wrongdoing sleep.

She raised her mighty waves high in the sky,

and plunge them down to purify,

Rushing and gushing with haste,

Through lands mired with waste.

She struck the ground with her fists,

Making it quiver and shake,

Breaking apart and exposing her rage,

That ruptures and sizzles on its path of rampage.

Her mercy is gone.

She's had enough.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Maha Kadafour

Writing is the expression of my heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.