Poets logo

Mother

Love changes.

By Susannah BruckPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Mother
Photo by Liv Bruce on Unsplash

Mother,

I miss the time

When I thought of you as a god

Do no wrong

Speak no evil

When I modeled my thoughts around your thoughts

Did all the things I saw you do

You made me, but I am not you

We are different now

Those 1 mm changes add up

After all

When a plane flies off course just a little

It has a very different destination

We disagree on many things

And yet

I love you more now

Than I did then

Adoration and devotion

Have matured well

I may not think you are God now

But that’s just as well.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Susannah Bruck

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.