Poets logo

Moth

a poem

By Merrie SandersPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
2
Moth
Photo by Malcolm Baskerville on Unsplash

I sure wish you’d

come looking for me

crawling through a hangover

of bleak misanthropy

alone in my thoughts

there with no relief

just drown in the bottle

of my hate and my grief

too short of a window

to jump or to climb

a pain burns in my heart

that I’ve buried inside

that box where it’s kept

walls rotting apart

no light to be seen

only black, vivid dark

where once blue skies sang

now I only see gray

the present a gift

I’ve felt long thrown away

tiny and trivial

now nothing of note

just that blip and the speck

a knife deep in my throat

........................................

but those purples and greens

created in life

and held in your dreams

propelling you far

wash your feet in the stream

with your net and your jar

run through the woods

forget all your haunts

the coulds and the shoulds

frolic and roam

just don't ever leave

because at that time

you'll find and you'll see

that beautiful butterfly

that once you had caught

sadly turned out to be

only a moth.

performance poetryStream of ConsciousnessFree Verse
2

About the Creator

Merrie Sanders

Writing for fun and as an escape from the everyday. After all, what is life for if not to create?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Butterflies are graceful things of beauty but I quite like the bulky cuteness of moths.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.