Poets logo

Motel 6

Without A Girl

By Elsie Flores-JimenezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Motel 6
Photo by Marcelo Leal on Unsplash

In the women's room

Of the bar

This Karen at the stall

Groggy, "Hurry it up," I say

Karen walks out

Slow motion I can see

Another weathered face

Looking back at me

Next night, the same thing

She seems to know

The hours I need to go

Always there before me

That evening in the cafeteria

Chicken soup is still

Cold and sticky

How long in the microwave?

Doesn't matter

Twisting cowhide gloves

The bowl spins

A reminder of the mechanic bull

At Susie's grill

This bothers me

It takes 8 months to realize

I've been trying everything

But beer to forget that girl

I ask the maid 2 questions

Where's the pool table?

Where's the beer?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Elsie Flores-Jimenez

Healing Through Poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.