Poets logo

Moss on a Log

Soul Soothing Journey

By Marysol RamosPublished 3 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
6
Picture by Ideogram

Soul Soothing Journey

Neutral. That was the word that described my thoughts and feelings. Nothing good or bad was happening. Nothing hurtful nor inspiring occurred. Life was simple and mediocre, which felt as if it were a reflection of myself. I was like bland coffee or watered down tea. Sure, I was grateful for where I was, but I also needed something different. Afterall, life is about emotions and experiences.

I looked up at a new painting that hung on my living room wall. There was a curved log crossing a creek. On the log grew a dark shade of green moss and brilliantly red roses. The background was dark as if a storm had just passed through.

I suddenly remembered that I was once told that there was life in me — creation, and power. So, I stood at my feet and gently tapped on the painting. Not to my surprise, it rippled. I somehow knew this was going to happen.

I took the painting down and placed it on the ground to lean against the wall. Without further hesitation I walked in.

I found myself at the height of one of the red roses. The scent was so beautiful, I wondered why I hadn’t bought more of them for myself in the past. As I continued leaning in to enjoy the scent, the petals of the rose caressed my face with the help of the wind. My entire being was tranquil and felt a peace unlike any other.

I then noticed the feeling of the moss on my feet. It was soft and warm. I placed myself stomach down on the moss and inhaled the scent of the soil between the cracks of the log. As I peacefully enjoyed the serenity of where I was, I focused on the sound of the water flowing gently beneath the log. It was like the whisper of a song, as if the wind was using the creek as a piano to serenade me.

Resting perfectly still on the soft moss, the scent of the roses and the soil mixed together consumed me. My eyes focused on the creek ahead as it flowed further than I could see. A cascade on the side beautifully adding more water into the creek. Little fish jumped in and out while the trees on either side of the creek carried tiny birds and silver critters.

The water looked too soothing for me to miss out on. I sat up and slowly made my way over the log and slid down into the water. The splash was a comforting chill after lying on the warm moss.

Down under I went until my feet touched the ground. I opened my eyes and saw a variety of fish of all different colors, textures, and sizes swimming around me. Some seemed to be made of typical scales, others of velvet, gems, or leaves. Though the sight before me was enchanting, it was time to get some air.

I pushed the ground with my feet and made my way up to the surface. I took in a deep breath and let it out toward the log. It seemed I had given it life.

The log, moss, and the roses began to move. I watched as it seemed to be waking up from a long night’s rest as it transformed into a being. The vessel of this life I just created had an ethereal beauty.

Fully formed, the being sat in the water to then scoop me up and place me on its knee. The being began to speak to me in a language I had never heard before — I thought it would be an enigma, but I somehow still understood what was being said.

“As I rose, the words of your breath sang to me. Your breath gave me life, but your words gave me energy. I hear you feel neutral, mediocre, not enough; but the truth is, my dear friend, within you hides art. There is a design, a genius, a masterpiece so grand — nothing about your soul is simple or bland. Each human has been created with a unique soul of light. Each human has been created with equal value, purpose, and might. It’s our own duty to implement these truths, speaking life to others instead of judging through standardized roots. Our lives might not be the same, nor our thoughts, desires, or decisions; but each of us have a gift that was given by God with intention. We are all of equal value in worth, purpose, and need — so let the design within you run wild and free.”

surreal poetrynature poetryMental Healthinspirational
6

About the Creator

Marysol Ramos

From Soul Soothing to Mysteries and Thrills. Take a few journeys with me through short stories that will either liven your soul or consume it with curiosity. Either way your mind takes a ride and your emotions are brought to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • M. Lee3 months ago

    Beautiful words. Well done!!

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Wonderful self reflection and fantasy within real life. Totally agree to let your freedom run wild. Lovely words.

  • Chloe Gilholy3 months ago

    I really liked this take on Randy’s challenge and the writing and word choices are lovely and brought a picture.

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Beautiful descriptions and such a deep message, loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.