Poets logo

Morning Walk

a simple ode to my favorite path

By Kristen BalyeatPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
16
Morning Walk
Photo by Ladyfern Photos on Unsplash

each day

you lead

me down

twists and

turns i’ve

come to

know

the same

yet

slightly different

as seasons

change their

flow

~

the walk

before me

known

yet the

experience

always new

i’m not

the

same

as i

was

yesterday

through

delicate shifts

neither

are

you

~

if not for

intimacy

with your

ins and outs

the subtle

gifts

i may

not see

each day

unique

along your

trail

nuances

of an

ever

changing

scene

~

the way

the sunlight

filters

through

your canopy

as branches

sway

in a

brand new

wind

fresh buds

sprung from

your perimeters

those blooming

flowers

around your

bend

~

the dawn

of rays

above your

gravel path

painting on

clouds i’ve

never seen

birds sing

their songs

in a

familiar

tone

yet the

chorus

is not

the same

~

grasses a

little taller

where the

doe steps

through

the trees

chatter of

squirrels

i’ve never

heard

new day’s

scent

diffused

into

the breeze

~

leaves of

your bordering

trees

slowly shift

to a

golden hue

crispness

in the

ever-changing

air

as frost

replaces the

morning dew

~

snowflakes

flutter

through the

sunrise sky

bidding

autumn adieu

bringing quiet

to your

animate world

even still

your

consistency

moves

me

through

~

despite

the ways

we change

your foundation

a constant

for my soles

leading me

into a

dripping of

intricate gifts

as you

guide me

on my

morning

stroll

nature poetry
16

About the Creator

Kristen Balyeat

Words fly to me on the wind, bump into me as I'm strolling the city, splash me in the face while I rest by the river, and shake me awake in the middle of the night– I’m humbly one of the many vessels they use to come to life.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    I feel like I am under appreciating my morning constitutional 😁

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Awesome vibes here! Walks are a great mindful activity to clear your head of BS but also observe all that is around. I like the idea of you AND the path changing too! 😃 ✨

  • Dean F. Hardy9 months ago

    I fucking loved that. Probably mu favourite entered into the challenge that I've managed to read. Great stuff Kristen ☘👌

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    And now I have a craving to see nature as you do

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    😍😍😍 this is stunning! Ahhhh I want to walk that path!! So peaceful and calm. I love watching living things change through the seasons and weather.

  • Gosh, this was so breathtaking! You painted such a beautiful picture in my mind with your words!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    You paint magic with words, Kristen! I felt as though I was with you on the path!

  • Everywhere we went, we always wanted to know where the trails were & explore every one of them. I love the way you capture how each moment & every day greet you anew on your walks.

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Thank you for taking us along such a beautiful versified path with you this morning, lovely scenery!

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    So, so, good, Kristen! This took me back to regularly hiking the coastal trails in Northern California.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Ah, perfect. I thought this challenge would be the ideal match for you, Kristen. I am always astonished at how precise you are with word choices. I often feel like my pieces are sometimes rambling, mumbling and a bit meandering. Beautiful work, Kristen. Every inch of this, made me feel like I was taking the walk with you, and it reminded me of the changes to the environment around me (we have a big country park thing close to our home and there are deer, foxes, squirrels and allsorts) Splendid, just splendid!

  • ARC9 months ago

    Gahd there's so much to love here. Comments as I walk with you... First: yet slightly different as seasons change their flow ✨

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.