Poets logo

Morning Glory

"What's the Story, Morning Glory"?

By Veronica ColdironPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
10
I created this on Night Café Creator Studio

Walking a sunlit lane this morning, I beheld the purple glory

Of silent beauties perched aloft, their faces toward the sun

Arising with the break of day, they crowd the fence together

Lovely blooms, their face alight, until their time is done

***

Sweet, their fragrance lifts me up, to greet me without worry

As I arise in early morn, their splendor to behold

And though they're bound in unison, tightly by a tether

Each one wakens thoughts in me, from childhood days of old...

***

From a time I cherish merrily, when cares were not my story

And happy days of long ago could find me by the fence

Breathing in the purple blooms, despite the world or weather

And feeling freedoms long desired, that I have not known since

***

Grandma said to rise at dawn, as a field of Morning Glory

Our faces turned up heavenward, as soon as we've begun

And since that time unto today, we two are still together

Though her light has long since gone, her time on earth now done

***

When cold befalls the vibrant blooms, now aged and growing hoary

Her guiding hand is with me yet, as my path turns round the bend

To Morning Glories evergreen, on her fence and blooming ever

Her face alight within my heart, always with me until the end.

My morning glories on the fence this morning

vintagesad poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational
10

About the Creator

Veronica Coldiron

I'm a mild-mannered project accountant by day, a free-spirited writer, artist, singer/songwriter the rest of the time. Let's subscribe to each other! I'm excited to be in a community of writers and I'm looking forward to making friends!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    I loved this so much! I can imagine having this hanging on my wall with pictures of Morning Glory and a beautiful sunny day. Fantastic work, my friend :)

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    This was such a beautiful poem/ ode to morning glories! I love that you topped off this piece with a picture of your own morning glories, that is a breath taking photo!! You could be a professional!

  • C. Rommial Butler8 months ago

    A lovely ode to both the flower and your grandmother!

  • This was extremely gorgeous! I loved your poem so much! And your Morning Glories are sooooo pretty!

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    Lovely. A great way to remember your grandmother. Nostalgic and loving.

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Spectacular!!! Love this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Lamar Wiggins8 months ago

    What a pleasant surprise! I loved the feel of your poem. Makes you want to wake up in the morning and sing "Hallelujah" Well done! 💖

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Beautiful, lyrical and sad. Well done, Veronica!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.