Poets logo

Morning Distractions

How do you get ready?

By Ruth StewartPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
5
Morning Distractions
Photo by Nimble Made on Unsplash

Did you set your clothes out?

In case you woke up late?

Silly habits but they do save time,

Trousers, socks and shoes all ready

Racing against the clock is stressful,

And knowing where things are is not.

Coffee, ready, percolating, smells wafting in anticipation.

Tempting to linger for a second cup,

I know, I know, it’s time to get on,

Oh, why do I do this to myself?

Now, keys-phone-bag – out the door!

social commentaryhumor
5

About the Creator

Ruth Stewart

I'm a grandmother of four amazing grandchildren and a mum of three fabulous children. I write poetry mainly, also prose and the odd story. I live in Scotland, UK. For a secret link to watch me read my favourite poems click right here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    I did that, and woe to anyone who moves anything. Not being a morning person and a grouch, things are generally left untouched. Then the day perks up. I love your poems.

  • I rarely wake up late but I always set out my clothes, lol! Loved your poem!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Well done, Ruth!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    I really like this one and yes the line "keys-phone-bag" is just how you say it! Love it, darling! 💓

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.