Poets logo

More to me

a call to arms

By Shannon JensenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
More to me
Photo by Mick Haupt on Unsplash

Love me and let me die.

My girl pride cries out like a bleeding scrape on the knee.

Teetering back and forth -

yes or no.

Shall I stay or shall I go.

A never-ending void of past mishaps and misfortunes.

They hold me down -

breathe from me.

A scavenger on the back of a whale.

My skin dries old and flakes around the edges.

A smile -

half knowing -

half cracked -

does a balancing act on my face.

Tip toes through the madness that may go forever.

Tip toes through my madness, and I follow ever so silently.

Ill thoughts circle their way around my maddened mind.

Happy and sad.

Happy and sad.

Someone help I think I'm mad.

I cried a long time ago under lights.

Thoughtlessness and restlessness soldiering it out on the pages of life.

My life.

Useless life.

But through a crack almost unseen, I see light.

A clearing of green never mores and flying bats.

I live in a crack.

Small wondrous crack that has become me.

My fingers creep through but all else remains.

My fingertips live for me as the rest is sheltered in the shadows.

Writhing in the pain.

Love me, then let me die.

These words of never more,

shall never,

and will never,

be more.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.