Poets logo

More Than A Number

Greater Than A Size

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
7
Jane Mansfield

*

Let me be as I was made

for numbers don’t define me

Not height or age or width of waist

I am more than what you see

We go through our lives altered

Trying to find our possibilities

We deal with our own falters

a twisted autobiography

Please see beneath this mask I wear

Please see me as I am

Appearance should not be something feared

On this we all should take a stand

The sticks and stones you gather

Will one day break more than bones

Throwing up idle chatter

Wounding from head to toe

Find the beauty of a soul

Find a way to heal a heart

Standing for another, bold

Is a perfect place to start

surreal poetryMental Healthlove poemsinspirationalheartbreakFriendship
7

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 15 days ago

    This meant a lot to me this morning as my physically challenged body started back to 21 minutes of soft yoga. Knowing how hard I try, what others may see is often frustrating. We never know what others are dealing with and women should stand up for each other. Thanks for the affirmation Kelli!

  • Mark Graham15 days ago

    This is a great article to use for various kinds of psychological groups to improve oneself and others as well.

  • Ameer Bibi15 days ago

    It's touching! The way your thoughts capture the essence of friendship and the passage of time is really heartfelt. It's a beautiful reminder of the value of friendship and cherishing the moments we share with loved ones. I am loving it.

  • Nice and congratulations

  • This was so powerful! I freaking loved it!

  • Babs Iverson16 days ago

    Brilliantly and beautifully written!!! Loved it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.