Poets logo

More Than a Home

Always wanting, never needing

By Jade HadfieldPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
14
More Than a Home
Photo by Khamkéo Vilaysing on Unsplash

I have wandered, lost

between brick and mortar,

each building a new realm

in which I was hidden, cocooned.

*

I have been safe, by definition,

kept warm, sheltered under rooftops,

fed from a selfless pantry,

never needing, yet wanting.

*

Yearning never fades, it strengthens,

craving, gnawing, festering,

a forever nomad,

living on the wish of a fairytale.

*

Undeserving, feasting on good will,

an empty soul forever famished,

deemed selfish by self-definition,

until fleeing turned to martyrdom.

*

You kept looking, found me

scavenging, afraid, carried me home,

never leaving watch, I couldn't stray,

a feral beast, you tried to domesticate.

*

But you wanted the same,

more than structure, more than needing,

two souls forever wanting, searching,

entwined by a desire to keep building.

*

I found my home in you,

in a fire slowly burning,

your passion was my kindling,

I will forever burn for you.

*

Two units, thriving independence,

dependent when days grew colder,

a support to maintain the journey,

a haven whenever weary.

*

I never wanted again, blissfully.

love poems
14

About the Creator

Jade Hadfield

A writer by both profession and passion. Sharing my stories about mental health, and my journey to becoming a better writer.

Facebook: @jfhadfieldwriter

Instagram: @jfhadfield

Twitter: @jfhadfield

Fiverr: https://www.fiverr.com/jadehadfield

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.