Poets logo

Moonlight, a Companion

An epistolary poem debut by yours truly.

By Brandon O'SullivanPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Charles O'Rear on Getty Images

Dear Moonlight, my ethereal friend,

Your silver beams stretch across the skies,

A gentle whisper, a celestial blend,

In the darkness, a solace for my eyes.

I've often gazed upon your face so fair,

As you rise and set with rhythmic grace,

In the stillness of the night, I declare,

You're the keeper of secrets, time and space.

Dear Moonlight, you've witnessed countless tales,

Of love and loss, joy and deep despair,

Through life's journey, as the daylight pales,

You're a constant companion, ever there.

In the quiet moments, when I am alone,

Your luminescence paints my thoughts anew,

A soothing presence, a familiar tone,

Inspiring dreams, a canvas of bright hue.

I am grateful for your celestial glow,

For the solace you bring to troubled hearts,

When darkness encroaches and tempests grow,

You remind us that every new day starts.

And though our paths may never intertwine,

Our connection stretches through the years,

For your beauty and majesty, I pine,

To you, Moonlight, I send my love and tears.

So, I bid you adieu, my confidante,

Continue to grace us with your soft light,

A beacon of hope, a gentle enchant,

We'll meet again, dear friend, another night.

Sincerely,

A Dreamer in the Night

love poems
1

About the Creator

Brandon O'Sullivan

Brandon O’Sullivan, a music fan, producer, and philanthropist, wants to give back. That’s value. Now, he wants to spend every moment we have as music fans simply giving it back to you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Loved your sign off! Sounds like a song or a novel title. This line too was especially beautiful -- "You're the keeper of secrets, time and space."

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.