Poets logo

Moonbeams

September 1998

By AlyssaPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
2
Moonbeams
Photo by Sanni Sahil on Unsplash

the beach that night was silent

we stood in awe of the sky

I watched the moon yellow as anything

dancing with the fingers of clouds

the stars danced above us and we were struck

that night on the beach was my life

I saw the moon and stars and saw myself

I was those stars and moon

you were those clouds that danced with me

God looked down on us and the troubles of our lives were gone

the moonbeams hit us and we were changed

we learned so much from that night

I found destiny

I was happy

I loved

I sit now wishing that moon and you were still real

but both are out of my reach

I have no control over what happens to me now

that is all I think of

when my life becomes real

this memory is my sanctuary

the things learned from that night

the things felt

are forever

but that night will never be as seductive

the sky will never touch us like that again

but when the moon is full and I am alone

I cry

thinking of you

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Alyssa

I've always wanted to write but have so much shame around my skills from years of feeling not good enough. But you know what, EFF IT! Let's write

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.