Poets logo

Monsters

A challenge to self loathing

By Emmy BPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Like
Monsters
Photo by Mattia on Unsplash

is this the monster that I feed?

An insecurity I feel I know.

i burn bridges when I need.

*

Hiding behind masks, I bleed,

this people pleaser I see grow -

is this the monster that I feed?

*

Raised without boundaries I’ve agreed,

all I see is you within my glow.

i burn bridges when I need.

*

With sweaty palms I do concede

am I here, my fear, my foe?

is this the monster that I feed?

*

I cannot face my shame and greed

but won’t remain my ego’s echo.

I burn bridges when I need.

*

No longer a slave to be freed,

my bottled wrath is now for show:

is this the monster that I feed?

I burn bridges when I need.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emmy B

I write some of my truths, and use words to weave stories and ideas together. Writing is a passion and an outlet for me and I hope to inspire, challenge, or simply be a reflection of others's experiences - to make people feel seen!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.