Poets logo

Monotonous Life

Imagine waking up one day, the certainty of this life shattered, questioning everything you thought was real.

By Mika OkaPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
6
Photo by author

I wake to find my world draped in existential grey, a shroud I wear like a second skin.

A sudden sharp chill jolted me to my senses

Must have fallen asleep watching a movie again

Something familiar

My life story replaying on the screen

Reality hits hard as I took off the headset

Bare naked on this stainless steel table

Tugging away those tubes and wires attached

Others are lying still on the tables

Probably a hundred of them in here

In this massive detention

My legs gave way and I hit the floor hard

I must have been unconscious for too long

Dragging myself over with all my might

To the small window at the corner

It’s a desert outside perimeter by walls

In a faraway distance

Not sure how far is it

Probably take me days to reach it

Feeling lost

How do I comprehend this

What should I do?

Do I go back to sleep like the rest?

Surviving through what they are feeding us?

Do I make a run towards the end?

Climb over the wall and face whatever is behind it?

Will it be even worse than my current state?

Uncertainties lie ahead… What will you do?

Trapped in this monotonous shit day in day out

Do you stay because of its certain degree of stability

and you are used to it and you are afraid of changes?

Do you throw caution to the wind and start anew?

©Emika Oka

Thank you for reading 🖤

Previously published on From The Corner of My Mind

Your support holds immense significance for a disabled neurodivergent. If you’d like to show your support, you can consider buying me a coffee here. Your kindness is greatly appreciated.

https://emikaoka.wordpress.com/home/

ProseStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryFree Verse
6

About the Creator

Mika Oka

Sharing her unique perspective on the world as a hearing-impaired autistic person with bipolar disorder despite the challenges.

https://ko-fi.com/emikaoka

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani16 days ago

    There was darkness with hope for light at the end of the tunnel in this poem. Nice one!

  • This was so poignant and emotional. Loved your poem!

  • Kodah16 days ago

    Emotional and written beautifully! Love your poem! 💌

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.