Poets logo

Monochrome Childhood

By: A.M Minnittee

By A.M Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

When I was young with tiny bones,

I felt a longing in my soul.

To pick a palette just for me,

but blacks and grays were all I’d seen.

*

Newly born with truer sight I tried to reach up toward the sky,

but the world shown light straight threw my eyes

and it burned so bad that I went blind.

Until shadow kept me safe at night.

Until I learned only time would make it right.

*

So now I slowly paint my skin

and hope the colors match within,

cause even if I cannot see

I’ll still always be truly me.

In color is where I’m truly free,

and I know those tiny bones would still agree.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

A.M

Author and Illustrator

*Divine Timing poetry book now available on Amazon and Bookshop on Bookbaby

A lover of mythology, folk, and fairy tales

IG: @a.martworktime

Website: https://3amartwork.wixsite.com/artworktime

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.