Poets logo

Missing time...

I grew up in a one-story, 3-bedroom house with a large field and woods in the backyard. Despite the strange experiences I had there, I loved that house and those woods. One peculiar night...

By spooky sessionPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
Like
Recommended to play this video(music) while reading

I grew up in a one-story, 3-bedroom house with a large field and woods in the backyard. Despite the strange experiences I had there, I loved that house and those woods.

One peculiar night stands out among those experiences. My mom worked nights, so my older brother watched my younger brother and me. When mom was gone, my younger brother and I would watch TV in her bedroom, sometimes falling asleep in her bed as we did that night.

I awoke a few hours later to see my brother sleeping soundly. Glancing at the alarm clock, I saw it read 1:47 AM in bright red. But in a blink, the time changed to 3:30 AM. My stomach dropped as unease washed over me, not just because of the missing time, but the sudden shift in energy - everything felt off, that ominous feeling I knew too well from past encounters.

My sense of dread grew as I heard a chorus of at least 20 wolves howling from the field behind the house, a sound I've never heard in that area before or since. We have no wolves or coyotes, only dogs. A whole pack howling at 3 AM? I thought it a strange dream until years later when my brother recalled hearing those chilling howls too - not a sound heard where we lived.

Though I've had stranger experiences, the eerie nature of that night remains vivid.

Mental Healthinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakBlackoutart
Like

About the Creator

spooky session

Daily spooky story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.