Poets logo

Money

A poem about financial stress

By Britt Blomster Published 3 years ago 1 min read
9
Money
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

I wonder what it’s like for money to never be a worry

To not budget every penny until your eyes are blurry,

For your accounts to rise instead of crash down

For your balance to make you smile instead of frown

I wonder what it’s like to spend without abandon

For money to not be your enemy, but your companion

Do they feel blessed or are they stressed like me?

Do they fall to their knees in gratitude when something is free?

I wonder what it’s like to want to show off your home

Live surrounded by all that glitters and shines like chrome

Alternative to broken chairs and cheaply made things

Do they feel thankful for all that their money brings?

I wonder what it’s like to not recoil at an extra expense

What’s it like to grab dollars instead of counting out cents

A constant state of panic and overwhelming shame

Putting every ounce you have into winning this game

I wonder what it’s like to not have nightmares about bills

A checking account that only fills instead of spills

The joy they must feel with bills paid, and some left to save

What a gift to spoil yourself with something you crave

I’m not ungrateful. I know I’m better off than others.

But dwindling funds are suffocating, it smothers

I want my kids to have everything and never feel behind

To not have to tell them to wait a few weeks or decline

Comforting myself, knowing that it could be worse

I could be walking around with an empty purse

Even with my knowledge, it’s about to get better

I still cringe. I’m just another American debtor.

This poem was orgininally posted here

social commentary
9

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.