Poets logo

Mommy has a booboo

A short story to help kids cope with parental surgeries

By Ashley ThornPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
4
Mommy has a booboo
Photo by Diana Polekhina on Unsplash

I missed my mommy one day and wondered where she went.

My granddad said, “The doctor; that’s where she was sent.”

The next time I saw mommy she was lying in a bed.

I tried to help her out and gave her a pillow for her head.

The next time I saw her I was all ready to play,

But mommy told me, “Sorry, I just can’t today.”

She explained she had surgery, and needed time to heal.

I was sad for mommy, and I wondered how that must feel.

What is surgery mommy? What is it you have got?

She said mommy has a big booboo so she needs to rest a lot.

I said, “O a booboo? I know that I got one just the other day.

It made me hurt and not feel good and in bed, I had to lay.”

I remembered how she cared for me when I didn’t feel so good.

I wondered if I could help her now, and decided that I would!

I brought her a snack, a blankie, and my favorite stuffed animal.

I made sure to help her walk so that she wouldn’t trip or fall.

Sometimes she said I got it, please just let me go.

I didn’t always understand. I didn’t always know.

So one day I asked mommy what was everything she needed

She said here’s what has to happen for my healing to be completed.

"I have to rest and be careful, so I don't touch my booboo.

It hurts when it gets hit and makes me feel bad just like yours do.

For now, that means no playing and no hugs, unfortunately.

Don’t worry I miss it too! And I know it is not easy.

I want to snuggle up and give you kisses on your head.

I want to read that book to you as you fall asleep in bed.

Right now though, I must heal before I can do all those things,

Or it hurts me very badly and puts me in a lot of pain."

So we made a list of things to do when mommy is awake.

We could sing, talk, and plan a lot about all the things we could bake!

For a time we blew some kisses, did air fives, and just hung together.

It was different for a while until she finally got all better.

Sometimes it seemed like forever, but she healed up eventually.

Letting her rest was the best thing to do to help her heal quickly!

childrens poetry
4

About the Creator

Ashley Thorn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.