Poets logo

Moments In Time

A poem based on true events.

By Jason Ray Morton Published 5 months ago 1 min read
5
Image by J. Morton using Dall-E3

What would not have been,

If not for the mission at hand,

If it would, I don't know when,

Yet, it was worth the sting of thy hand.

Such fire in those eyes,

That lustful gaze of hate and scorn,

You had more than enough reason to despise,

The truth of our first encounter, I did not warn.

Secrets in the night and the lives that we chose,

Crossing behind enemy lines, a fated mistake,

We were there to finish it, to bring the mission to a close,

Then seeing you, that look I caused and your heartache.

The sting of your hand, more than justified,

My grin ever aggravating,

I was sorry for before, for when I'd lied,

And the truth was less than mitigating.

Never one to forget, my memory carrying the jewels of your eyes,

Your second slap was a miss,

Then I caught your third swing, and you by surprise,

Following it up with a kiss.

The rest...we worked out in the morning.

love poems
5

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    Slap of passion, glad you had great reflex

  • Oof, that slap must have hurt! Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Awesome!!! Loving the love poem!!!💕❤️❤️

  • I was never even worth the trouble of a slap, lol. (Except from my mother when I said something cheeky.)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.