Poets logo

Moments in the Morning

The Little Things of Comfort

By Laura LannPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Moments in the Morning
Photo by Robert Thiemann on Unsplash

I find it in the early breath of morning

As light peaks through the fog on the mountains

And birds ruffle their feather for flight.

The raven sits in a tree, ready to chatter.

It's tucked away in my warm mug,

Rising with the steam to my cheek,

Spreading delight with the first sips,

Lulling me with its sweet taste.

I run through the forest of my mind

Collecting pleasant thoughts as a child

May collect beetles or butterflies

And on these I reflect rather than

Give rise or fester to the anxiety

That may stir within to rise

Like a starter till it floods over

The rim of the mixing bowl, on to the counter.

Today it lays pressed away like

Neatly folded napkins in a drawer.

Instead, I find soft thoughts pulled

From my mind with gentle music

Swaying in the background as

My dog offers her paws to

Join me in a twirl around the kitchen.

Breakfast simmers at the stove,

Rich and fluffy French Toast.

It will be drowned in cream cheese

And ooze with molasses.

And Lucy's tail wags as my skirts

Swish and sway with my hips

And my voice gives rise to song.

Soon my dearest will wake,

Rouse from sleepy covers to give a kiss.

His arms will slide around me,

Strong and sure, warm and gentle.

His breath will tickle my ear

As my hand finds his messy hair to

Fluff and smooth to tamer curls.

Both dogs always sit at our feet,

Waiting their turn for pets

And the compliments of our affection.

These moments will come again and again

As I gray and age, and fade to dust

Like snow melting before a great freeze

Has time to mark its path on the soil.

And, on gloomy days,

These will be the things I miss.

inspirationallove poemsnature poetryperformance poetry
1

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jessi2 years ago

    So sweet and lovely to read! Love your style.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.