Poets logo

Mixed Paint

A blend

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Mixed Paint
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

I may be a winter

But black is not the color of my life

My mood shines like beams of yellow

like the sun

Though I will not inquire

with words that make you sweat

I hate a conversation, made up of

questions

You are my friend, not my witness

I have pride in my rainbow of moods

That I can remain calm in most situations

I am saying that if I am crying

The sorrow is more than real

No illusion can bring on tears

If I am angry- what really happens

Running and avoiding

Is my best answer- Just walk away

Fits need not be raised

a very unsexy quality-action

West Side story- the sadness

All from the raising of fists

No, my color is not black

Yellow generates too much heat

A lite pastel

An environment where light colors blend- like streaks of mixed paint

A mixture of colors - calm soothing

I have pride- even if turning the other

cheek is laughed upon

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was a beautiful poem!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    this is beautiful. well done

ALBWritten by Antoinette L Brey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.