Poets logo

Mistress Rain

I live in the UK, so I have a permanent on-again-off-again affair with her

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
15
Mistress Rain
Photo by Miad Khan on Unsplash

Rain has a fetch, a double, a spirit

We can smell before she falls

+

Before we feel Claustrophobia, the heavy sky

Leaning in on us

Ahead of Pitter patter

Steady first fat drops

Confidently banging on the window

As if he wants to come in

+

Clothes sticking to skin

Damp, chilly

Click-clack of hurrying heels

Tsking of optimistic fools who hung out laundry

Curses at gusts of wind

Broken brollies

And muddy dogs

+

Laughter

Children jumping in puddles

Roar of hastening traffic

Cold dirty wave drenches my feet and ankles

A glimpse of the child in the back seat

Head resting against the window

Eating up the hours and miles

Like children everywhere

By racing raindrops

Down the pane

+

Warm, dry embrace of Home

Welcomes us back

No judgement or question

About the breath of Rain on our skin

Wet smudge on our collar

+

The feel and peel of clammy clothes

Sloughed to the floor

Sigh into fresh pyjamas

Hot mug warms palms

Chasing away her cool wet bite

+

Bathe in the soothing sound of her

Still outside my window

Kissing the leaves

Softly, then passionately

Rising to a crescendo

Enspelling me swiftly down into sleep

Studding my dreams with her staccato song

Riveting me firmly into snug slumber

So thoroughly I don't even hear her leave

Tiptoe-ing over the horizon

+

The world wakes

Shakes

Delicate diamond droplets on bright petals

Splashes of colour in dour hedgerows

A little Yes at the roadside

+

Tiny prisms burst from sparrows wings

Blinking, we emerge into the weak sunlight

Noses lifted to smell the fresh ghost of rain

+++++++

Thank you for reading. Poetry is not my happy place. If I do dip my toe in it, I prefer to make it rhyme, but there is also something satisfying about pouring the words out and nailing them to the page with the sole aim to reflect exactly what I'm feeling in a given moment.

Please do leave a comment so I can reciprocate the read!

+++++++

If you enjoyed this poem, have a shufti at my other effort here on Vocal. If you didn't enjoy it, have a look at this one 👇 anyway - it's better IMO 😁

nature poetry
15

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Thavien Yliaster2 months ago

    This poem, and that thumbnail for "String Theory," are oddly sensual, and You know what? I'm like that. However, You poem isn't bound to either male nor female. Like the rain itself, the words are rather fluid. It goes from ethereal to a sense of pressure Then changing to a sense of hurry, to mildly annoyed to then the calm joy of of childhood innocence. The hours I spent riding in a vehicle with my family while we spent little bets on which raindrop raced down the window the fastest. Ahhh, good times. Good times. "Bathe in the soothing sound of her Still outside my window Kissing the leaves Softly, then passionately Rising to a crescendo Enspelling me swiftly down into sleep Studding my dreams with her staccato song Riveting me firmly into snug slumber" - This stanza right here is absolutely fantastic. Ahh I love the sound of sleep and kisses in my ears. Two of the best sleep aids ever. Thank goodness for Mother Nature and all of her blessings.

  • Test2 months ago

    Really excellent work here LC. I loved the playfulness of the poem, and the metaphors are lovely. I too have a love hate relationship with the rain. We've gotten feet of rain this winter (which means my state is going to be a hot swamp this summer)

  • Bugsy Wattsabout a year ago

    taking notes on this one! really well done

  • Shane Dobbieabout a year ago

    I feel your pain with poetry - I’ve had a go for some challenges and quite enjoyed it but it’s not my wheelhouse. Enjoyed this though - great imagery

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Outstanding you really did a good job with this.

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    not a big fan of the inclement weather but this piece nails it!

  • I loved this, and rain is a nice part of the weather, thank you for sharing

  • Blue Bhuttaabout a year ago

    The timing of this poem couldn't be more perfect😍because it rained yesterday night and today I saw this poem. describing exactly what I am feeling right now.

  • F. Leonora Solomonabout a year ago

    L.C., poetry used to be my constant vehicle but i am a little estranged from it but made the leap for you--this is lovely. wanna laugh? it barely ever rained when i was in London! 😂

  • Sarah Wilcoxabout a year ago

    Always chasing raindrops. I love the imagery!

  • Kelly Robertsonabout a year ago

    Love this! We don't see too much rain where I'm at and I miss it! You brought me right back to those rainy days as a kid. Well done!

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    That's very lovely L.C., just be thankful for the Gulf Stream or (at the UK's latitude) most of it would be snow!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.