Poets logo

Mister S

While the Wolf Moon rises

By AphoticPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Mister S
Photo by Tom Pottiger on Unsplash

Mr. Sandman

What are you doing to me

This is not what I wanted

When I asked for a dream

This is a nightmare

And it’s stealing my breath

If you don’t wake me up

It’s gonna scare me to death

::

Wash the sand out of my eyes

Remove this weight from my chest

Wake me from this bed of lies

Give my aching soul a rest

From angels spitting in my face

Monstrous gods laughing

Lying cold in death's embrace

Dimensions overlapping

::

My lover lays me down to sleep

Smiling like a bride

On sheets of cold earth six feet deep

Shoveling dirt inside

No eulogy or prayer

No farewell lullabies

Only laughter, cold and cutting

Through the red tape of my mind

::

Mr. Sandman

Don't bring me a dream

These movies in my head

Are becoming obscene

You have the power

To change what plays on the screen

But I’m starting to think

You love the sound of a scream

::

It’s always darkest before the dawn

Unless I’m dreaming at noon

I’m tired of the demons my brain tends to spawn

When I’m asleep in my room

The kind that wake me up in a sweat

With feelings of impending doom

I dread to see what the sandman will conjure

During the upcoming full moon🌕

surreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

Aphotic

Horror|Sci-Fi|Fantasy|Poetry

Instagram🌅

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Oooo. Good poem ! Love the alliteration. 🥰

AphoticWritten by Aphotic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.