Poets logo

Mister...

no more.

By Jim E. Beer - Story writer of fact and fiction. Published about a year ago 1 min read
1

When I found you by myself,

you just about scared the crap outta me.

It took me a while to figure out what you were.

Finally, my heart stopped pounding.

What are you doing here and why?

Did you come here alone, like me, just to die?

Did someone else bring you to this place, to put you down?

Mysteries abound and then some are found.

Lying on the ground, half buried in leaves, now I can see

just what you used to be.

All bristly hide, old bleaching bones tucked up inside, very well disguised.

You know what gave you away,

here in the dappled rays on top of 'Lonely Hill'?

Your cloven hooves, Sport.

That and your massive size.

Only a few things from these parts, that rhyme with what you are.

Rather, what you were.

No more mysteries in store,

Mr. Skeletal Boar.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Jim E. Beer - Story writer of fact and fiction.

Raised in Ancaster, Ont. I write about what I know and survived. Apart from tales of my youth, I am writing a horror story for the Fiction-Horror section of the library. Met an old homeless guy He told me, "Everyone has their own story."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.