Poets logo

Mirror, mirror

Show me someone else

By Marilynn JamesonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Mirror, mirror
Photo by Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

Oh mirror, mirror on the wall, why must you show me my true form at all? For every glance I take at thee, I see a reflection that is not me. My mind, it twists and it contorts, the image before me, it distorts.

I see a body that is flawed, a shell that is broken and awed. My eyes deceive me, but yet I can't look away, trapped in this cycle day after day.

My thoughts, they spiral out of control, consumed by the dysmorphia in my soul. I see what is not there, and I can't escape the despair. My body, it feels like a prison, my mind, it's the warden within.

I try to hide my insecurities, but they are etched upon my features. I long to be free from this constant fight, to see myself with eyes that are bright. But until that day, I am trapped, in this cycle of self-loathing and snapped.

Oh mirror, mirror on the wall, I wish that I could see myself as tall, strong, and beautiful, but for now, I am trapped in this cycle, in this endless hall of body dysmorphia, and the mirror shows me only the reality.

social commentarysad poetry
1

About the Creator

Marilynn Jameson

Glasgow based writer Marilynn originally hails from Manilla, Philippines. She has a grand vision of art and what it should mean: to sway the heart. She hopes her work sways yours, dear reader.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.