Poets logo

Mirror Images

We are forever...

By Marie McGrath DavisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2021
10

Deep within the mirror

I see you captured there

My every line your wisdom

Your laughter, your prayer.

I see what life has given you

What you have given me

And only I can treasure these -

The memories I see.

The words I set upon the page

Are mine, but even yet

I hear my father's voice afar,

"Don't ever, love, forget."

The music to the songs I write

Flows gently as I sway

To every note my mother sang

Before she went away.

I sing to you, to both my loves

In a voice I know is yours

My songs cannot be sung without

Your harmony, your chords.

How small this child in stature

Against the mirror glare

Yet ev’ry breath a history speaks

In cadences we share.

Though time will have its victory

And claim this face I see

I know I’ll always find you here

You’re always home with me.

vintage
10

About the Creator

Marie McGrath Davis

If I didn't write, I would explode.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.