Poets logo

mirror

(on the wall)

By Sara Published about a month ago 1 min read
5

the life that filled the gaps

in my jeans

tightens around my waist.

i can’t breathe.

i miss dying.

i know i’m not supposed to say that.

but i never had to think about tomorrow

and i liked the mirror.

maybe.

it’s not like i had the energy to look.

i eat now

because i want to live

but sometimes

my throat closes

when i swallow

and getting dressed in the morning

takes an hour.

at the end of it

i never want to leave my house again.

i know i’m not supposed to hate my body

but i do.

Free VerseCONTENT WARNING
5

About the Creator

Sara

Don’t look for love.

Be love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK about a month ago

    I fought with self image in my teens, over exercised and skipped meals. I have found peace but still can become overtaken with shame. I loved being thin but it is not natural for my body type. Life is for living. I hope you find self 💕 love.

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    Supposed or not, we feel how we feel. I hope you find peace with it, though. It's you. Don't hate you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.