Poets logo

Miracles

A Prayer For A Second Chance (CLAIMED)

By Calvin ELPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Miracles
Photo by Dawn McDonald on Unsplash

I pray for a second chance,

My faith has been depleted,

I've let go and let God,

Yet still, I feel defeated.

An aperture in my heart,

Chaos reigns supreme,

Above a lowly mountain,

Where the pearly gates gleam.

An earths fury knows no bounds,

A living hell I am in,

All this talk about missing the mark,

As if life itself is a sin.

A sin to be happy,

A sin to be sad,

A sin to be angry,

And a sin to be glad.

So where can one go, in a world full of sin,

Burning with weary feelings,

A flaming sword turning each way,

For its kids who play the villain.

Isn't life is but a fleeting moment,

But living is forever lasting,

What I see is a weak imitation,

Of a love that is never asking.

Asking me to do this,

Or asking me to be that,

Tricks and treats, may be good to eat,

But eventually, you’ll give it back.

So now I'm asking for one last chance,

To set the record straight,

A miracle of miracles, I pray thee,

That will change the course of Fate.

Make me one of your hired servants,

A token of your grace,

I was given the ring without knowing,

That's why I humbly prostrate today.

I’ve entered into the Holy of Holies,

I've placed my desire upon thy altar,

The secret chamber of the bride and groom,

To gather so I may not falter.

A miracle causes for a celebration,

It is the highest form of love,

Bless my path and fulfill my journey,

That I may shine like the stars above.

And glow like the moon in heavens,

I am asking this in your name,

The King of Kings and Lord of Lords,

That you bring me out of this pain.

So you guided me through this darkness,

Never once losing my hand,

"Follow the light," you once said,

And now I understand.

You gently lay me down to sleep,

And cast your gaze upon my eyes,

You kissed my temple and said, “rest for a while,”

My, oh, my how time flies.

I was just a kid, when we first met,

You planted a seed about something rare,

Along with secrets of the universe,

Showing me its truth and how life isn't fair.

I always knew what was coming next,

It was a gift that you gave me,

Seeing it happen in dreams and visions,

Can drive the average person crazy.

So you cast a veil upon my eye,

And blocked my sight for some time,

To teach one lesson for those to see,

The moment when the cosmos align.

The Spirit, the Mind, and the body,

Which represents the tabernacle of God,

The inner sanctuary and the outer court,

Still is connected, yet can feel very far apart.

A temple desecrated is mindless fool,

Wandering life, to and fro,

Until that appointed time is soon revealed,

Take it from me, I speak what I know.

And now the time has finally come,

I stand at the altar and make my appeal,

Not for me, but for those to see,

That miracles, yes, miracles are indeed real.

Amen.

fact or fictionsurreal poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalart
Like

About the Creator

Calvin EL

I am a Writer.

It is my passion. It is my inheritance. An inheritance that didn’t require any discipline to obtain, because it was freely given.

*shrugs*

Yet, I am still trying.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.