Poets logo

Milky Coffee

Drinking Poetry

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Milky Coffee
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

It's closing time now

It's time for an early night.

It's time to go home.

It's bright outside.

It doesn't feel like bedtime.

Before I went to bed, I had a milky coffee.

Before I drank my coffee, I curled up on the sofa.

Before my bottom touched the sofa, I washed up.

Before I did the dishes, I ate my dinner.

Before I ate my food, I cooked the meal.

Before I cooked, watched some soaps.

Before all that, I had just returned from work.

Before work, I found myself with milky coffee.

I need caffeine to keep my brain buzzing.

I need the calcium to keep my body buffed up.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • AdebaSmity10 months ago

    Thank you very much for this really great poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.