Poets logo

Midnights

A poem for Taylor Swift

By A.RPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Midnights
Photo by Raphael Lovaski on Unsplash

Hey Taylor,

You don’t know me, but I’ve spent years listening to your music

Love Story was on repeat on the radio in 2008

You had me dreaming of a love so great, it kept me up so late

Hit after hit, I was listening and tuning in every time

Dancing with arms and hips swaying screaming, I don’t know about you but I’m feeling 22

Hair down, red lipstick and the scent of Ralph Lauren Romance in the air

The Last Time had me in my feelings when I never went through a heartbreak

My signature colour all of sudden is red

You released 1989 and that’s when I started to become a different kind of fan

Your style changed and I was loving it

Bad Blood was my anthem for the rest of the year

The mind is a beautiful thing because in 2014 I started comparing the both of us

We are so different

One with blonde hair and blue eyes

And I

With black hair and brown eyes

One born in Pennsylvania

And I

Born in a war-torn country

Two different sides of the world but the one thing in common

is being born in the year 1989

From different worlds but somehow, we crossed paths

I felt your pain, your joy, your happiness, and your broken hearts

Listening to your songs year after year and watched you on tv

Was so proud as you collected your shiny Grammys like candy

Thanks to you I decided to live my life unapologetically

Travelled around the world and let go of any societal pressures

I finally feel free and happy

Thank you for Midnights

I have it playing nonstop since the release

And best believe, I will be blasting it when the ball drops

Ringing in the new year!

celebritiesinspirationallove poemsperformance poetry
2

About the Creator

A.R

Writing about my lonely, scary and sometimes happy world ❤

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.