Poets logo

Midnight Visits

And Reality

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
5
Midnight Visits
Photo by Anita Jankovic on Unsplash

I wander the halls like a traveling mist

revisiting faces I love on the wall

Captured and framed, like a magical kiss,

time passes with no effort at all

Frozen moments I hold captive in time,

try to stay, but the sun pulls me back

A barless prison, where I serve out my time

mourn my loss, wearing shadows of black

*

Changing perspectives, and the smile on my face

speeding ahead, like a runaway train

In the midnight hours I travel alone,

longing again for those sweet yesterdays

To some, may seem strange, that I cling to this place

life is meant to be lived in the present

But those memories so dear, happiness for me has been rare

I fear what I had, has been spent

*

It's 6 am, I'm back at it again,

dreams once again, left behind

Weekdays and the same old routines

surviving some nine to five

The world doesn't stop, moves along, with no sound

through the motions, completing the day

Until tonight, when midnight rolls back around

and those happy memories come out to play

surreal poetry
5

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    You never fail to make me feel. This resonated so much. Absolutely beautiful :) (PS I love your new profile pic!!)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is so relatable. Love.

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Beautiful 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.