Poets logo

Midnight Army

a wind-up poem

By Crysta CoburnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Midnight Army
Photo by Laura Ockel on Unsplash

I actually worked on this poem before I got really into steampunk. (Most of my published short fiction can be found in steampunk collections.) But now, that is all I picture when I read this, and I wish I were an animator so I could bring it to life.

---

Pale moonlight slanting through the window

A twist, a grind of the key

Winding up the army of toys

They march forth from the shadows

Across the room they tap their feet

They clang their symbols

In the soft moonlight

Stepping to an invisible music

Only they seem to hear

---

If you enjoyed this poem, be sure to check out more of my work at my author profile! Find a list of my published short fiction by clicking here.

surreal poetry
10

About the Creator

Crysta Coburn

Crysta K. Coburn has been writing award-winning stories her whole life. She is a journalist, fiction writer, blogger, poet, editor, podcast co-host, and one-time rock lyrics writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.