Poets logo

Midlife Crisis

The Paradox of Middle Age

By Misty RaePublished about a year ago β€’ 1 min read
19

How did I end up stuck here?

The answer is way less than clear.

Too old to be fun.

Too young to be done.

That's life in the 50th year.

social commentary
19

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨about a year ago

    This made me giggle.. even if I want to shake you a little for thinking you’re too old to be fun at 50! Be joyful and carefree and that is fun to anyone around you πŸ¦‹

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Those numbers...great lines!!

  • Really Good oneπŸ‘πŸ˜‰β€οΈ

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Creative and loving it!!!πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’•

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Love it! Feel it, too!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Very Original πŸ™‚

  • Sneha Pradhanabout a year ago

    This was so great! Never too old for fun β™₯️

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Oh my knees..., they wish they could remember 50! Fun limerick Misty.

  • Thavien Yliasterabout a year ago

    I'mma tell You this, some of the most physically ripped, capable, performing people I see in the gym are well into their 50s. It's only ever more uphill from there.

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a year ago

    40 was a big year for a friend. Our son turned fifty, thought it was the end. The hubby is in his 70s. I'm ending my 60s. Send me the 50s to spend!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Omg!! Yay. I'm so glad you jumped aboard the limerick train. Love it.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Wonderful flow! And you’re fun enough to write this great limerick! Great job! 😍

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    I'm banking on the 50s being the new 40s by the time I get there. πŸ˜… Well done!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    This one has a great flow to it... Just wait til you hit life in the 60th year!!!

  • Great!! Numbers don't mean anything, forget they exist.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Yes!!!!! I am feeling this one so much!! Great work on describing this time of life :)

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Fun and clever. πŸ˜‚πŸ₯°

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Love this one!! That was very clever 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.