Poets logo

Metaphorical Wings:

Monologue in collaboration with Michelle Phillips Standish

By Saroyan ColesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Metaphorical Wings:
Photo by Abigail Keenan on Unsplash

Life’s sequential,

Psst pep talk

just because

I’m here—

Doesn’t mean

Indefinitely, right?

I definitely

get weird

about too much attention,

It embarrasses me!

I mean,

look at each pace,

every sway

as I nibble away

at my nails!

Which I

meticulously

painted earlier,

this morning!

So cost effective? No!

Processing all the space,

in this vast universe

I embrace myself in?

Is

this

just my weigh- station?

Or

Permanent state of

being?

Momentum building inside,

I understand it,

but don't fully agree

with where it’s taken me,

this very minimal

moment...

I feel as vulnerable

as a little pupa!

Wriggling around,

looking for the top of a leaf

for oxygen

just to spare a moment,

to breath!

Only,

to fall

to the ground

And be stepped on!

I allow the distance

Between

my goals

and expectations

To mentally

defeat me!

Fold into my wings

Then go into;

flits of

I’m on the verge,

Of the greatest

transformation,

Mesmeric metamorphosis metaphorically fear me!

Rhythmically

beat for beat

from my diaphragm!

I digress,

my pride,

reflects in these

pale blue irises eyes

imagine a stare

hardened as a chrysalis!

Emerging from

this warm comfort zone,

to frigid cold!

It’s time,

I just gots to-

Shed this body

like deadlifts

I allow,

the old me

to die off,

figuratively of course!

I am femininity

I am powerful

I am stunning

Move get out of my own way!

Fast forward, this cycle of

unwavering faith

Lead the way

like flying among flowers!

I’m fully convinced

I’m on the right path

Today is fleeting,

Tomorrow is promising

By Karina Vorozheeva on Unsplash

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.