Poets logo

Metamorphosis

Reborn

By Wendy - Empathic TigressPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
15

Among the cherry blossoms, below the curdling clouds,

Overnight the dewdrops kissed, the brilliant pink facade...

My thoughts of you echo through the midst of empty streets,

They lead me back to hopes and dreams, begging at my feet.

°

A distant storm approached, to provoke my manic mind,

There's no shelter for this loneliness, I cannot push 'rewind'

I found myself clinging to a silver-weaved cocoon,

My emotions were disjointed, entrapped in gothic gloom.

°

A soul of me writhed gently, inside my silken room,

Forgotten by the sunshine, beneath a silver moon

Reborn in metamorphosis, a girl now split in two,

I sprouted wings of sapphire, and arms and legs of blue.

°

Paralysed in liquid gold, imprisoned by my fears,

I found the strength to wriggle free into the morning air

There's no need to fear a fall, I flit from here to there,

Maybe, it’s a lucid dream but truly, I don't care!

°

I don't want to leave you, nor, deny you anymore,

Look out to the horizon, beyond the golden shore,

I am a bright blue butterfly gliding, o'er the sea,

Through the windows of my mind, my thoughts, at last, are free!

°

©Wendy Phelan - Edited - 2020

Image Courtesy of - Google

inspirational
15

About the Creator

Wendy - Empathic Tigress

Born in NZ, living in Australia. With a passion for writing from an early age. Traumatic experiences peppered my life but, gave me deep empathy and unconditional love. Poetry/writing are the best therapy and bring me peace, I hope to share.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Such lovely imagery!! Loved this

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a year ago

    Beautifully written

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Wow. Love it

  • This was so liberating!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is an incredibly beautiful piece. Well so.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.