Poets logo

Metamorphosis

The truth, unfettered

By A.N.TiptonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
7
Metamorphosis
Photo by Karina Vorozheeva on Unsplash

They said I was small, unworthy and selfish,

And I took those words as if they belonged.

Who was I to shine my light?

To be... and smile... and dream.

🦋

Somehow those inconsequential words gained power,

burrowing into the crevices of my self-worth.

Years went by, passing like rain.

Until you.

🦋

“Your beautiful,” you said.

And I barely dared to believe.

How would you know?

🦋

“You are worthy,” you said.

And the unexpected truth

breathed a new life into my soul.

🦋

I consecrated into me

the new truth, bit by bit,

mile by painful mile.

🦋

The new truth of self-worth

wove into the genome of my soul,

into the fabric of my DNA.

🦋

Unfettered self-love birthed

a new being of metamorphosis

embodied by the divinity within.

🦋

And I was made anew, stretching

out new membranes and multicolored

scales transformed into higher consciousness.

🦋

Bursting free, floating on translucent

wings, forged of strength and perseverance,

upon light waves of love and undiluted truths.

🦋

Now I say, I am powerful, worthy, and abundant.

I lay claim to these words, for

I am here to shine my light.

To be... and smile... and dream.

🦋

Thank you for reading. If you like this article please heart me, share or check out my other work here.

Previously published on Medium.com.

© 2021 - A. N. Tipton

inspirational
7

About the Creator

A.N.Tipton

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.

https://linktr.ee/A.N.Tipton

© 2023 A. N. Tipton

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lena Folkert2 years ago

    Absolutely beautiful! Needed to read this today <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.