Poets logo

Mercies Upon Our Home

An Elf of our Own

By Karyn SavagePublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
2
Mercies Upon Our Home
Photo by Nik on Unsplash

'An elf on the shelf!' my children all moan,

'We want an elf on the shelf of our own!'

'I spoke to Santa and made it real clear,

We don't need an elf in our house this year!

Elves can be cheeky and make such a mess,

You little darlings are quite enough stress,

I don't need another to chase and clean after,

Can you imagine our home a disaster!'

'But Mum, they sprinkle the tables in glitter.'

'And who do they send to pick up all the litter?'

'But Mum, they use tape to block up the loo.'

'You somehow manage the same with your poo!'

'But Mum, they are funny and awfully tricky,

They put honey on door knobs to make them all sticky.'

'Have you not seen our bench tops at home?

I assure you we don't need an elf of our own!'

'But Mum, they don't always use slimy muck,

Sometimes they climb into jars and get stuck.'

'I bet they climb up the walls and the curtain!

I know their mischief of that I am certain!

Thank you, dear Santa, ignore their pleas,

I'm ever so grateful here on my knees,

I know that you love the joy in kids' eyes,

But equally care for the Mum when she cries.

You know this poor Mum's at the end of her rope,

She just couldn't do it, she never would cope.

Thanks for your mercies upon our sweet home.

Thanks for not sending an elf of our own.'

Karyn Savage (2022) thanks for following me on Vocal Media and Karyn Savage Author on instagram.

social commentaryperformance poetryhumorHolidaychildrens poetry
2

About the Creator

Karyn Savage

A teacher, musician and writer at heart. I love painting pictures with words. Poetry and stories in rhyme are what I love to write the most. One day I hope to see some of my works for children in print.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Lol, this made me chuckle! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.