Poets logo

Memory Care

A normal call on 911 with an alzheimer's patient

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 2 min read
6
Memory Care
Photo by Steven HWG on Unsplash

Dispatcher: 9-1-1, what is the location of your emergency?

Caller: Eleanor, is that you?

Dispatcher: No sir, this is 9-1-1, do you have an emergency?

Caller: Where's Eleanor? Why isn't she here?

Dispatcher: Sir, where are you located?

Caller: I don't know.

Dispatcher: What's your name sir? Do you need help?

Caller: My name's Frank. Do you know where Eleanor is?

-----

Dispatcher 2: (to Dispatcher) That's the Palms Rehab on Port Malabar Blvd. Phone history shows Frank McCallister in room 2211.

-----

Dispatcher: No, I don't. Are you hurt Frank? Do you need an ambulance?

Caller: They won't give me my medicine.

Dispatcher: Who won't give you your medicine? Frank, is there anyone there with you?

Caller: No. I'm all alone here and I don't know where I'm at.

Dispatcher: Frank, are you at the Palms Rehab?

Caller: I don't know. There's some nurse or someone ... Where's Eleanor? Why isn't she here?

Dispatcher: Frank, do you know what room number you're in?

Caller: I'm at home ... I think ... there's nobody here.

Dispatcher: Frank, I'm going to have someone come in and check on you, okay?

Caller: Okay. Is Eleanor coming?

Dispatcher: A nurse is coming to check on you Frank.

Nurse: Mr McCallister, are you okay? Are you on the phone?

Caller: Who are you?

Nurse: I'm Nurse Jean, Mr. McCallister. I'm gong to give you your medicine to help you sleep, okay?

Nurse: 911? This is Nurse Jean with Palms Rehab. We're with Mr. McCallister.

Dispatcher: Is Mr. McCallister okay?

Nurse: Yes. He's in the Memory Care unit. He has alzheimers.

Dispatcher: Can you tell me who Eleanor is?

Nurse: Eleanor was his wife. She passed away two years ago. He forgets because of the alzheimers and someone always has to tell the poor man again.

Dispatcher: That's awful. I can't imagine learning over and over repeatedly that my spouse was deceased. Having to go through that pain again.

Nurse: Yes. It's horrible. And, like most of the elderly here, no family visits. We're all they have.

Dispatcher: I've got to answer another 911. Call back if you need police, fire, or an ambulance.

***************************************************

As a 911 Police, Fire, and Medical Dispatcher myself for 31 years now, I can attest to the above. Just tonight we had a similar call. It's heartbreaking. We actually do have an elderly man in our city who has to be told over and over again that his wife is deceased. The sheer horror of that just hits me in the gut. But, we still have to grab that incoming line to try to help the next caller with an emergency.

social commentarysad poetryMental Healthheartbreak
6

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Yusuf Alam3 months ago

    💯👌👌👌Andrew

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Wow! Such a weird predicament for Alzheimer patients. Like a deranged ground hog's day. Thank you for your service and for sharing this. I'm Praying that medical advancements can soon cure, reverse or slow down the effects of this disease.

  • Brenton F4 months ago

    Frank could be my Mum - she is in a Nursing Home and when I spoke to her she told me of her Xmas day at the beach - she hasn't done that for a long time. A very touching and moving piece but I know that Frank was in your good hands!

  • Poor Frank. I can only imagine the devastation that he would feel each time he learns Eleanor is no more 🥺🥺

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Pure and authentic!!! Left some love!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.