Poets logo

Memories of War

Acceptance has been something I needed to come to terms with. Accepting my time in service has been a long and hard journey.

By Matthew MccaheyPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
7
Memories of War
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Trigger warning- war/ptsd

Once a soldier always a soldier

That’s how the saying goes

Some memories may fade

But a few never do

*

I remember the day vividly

Only two things stood out

The smell of burnt flesh

And an overwhelming aura of death

*

By Luke Southern on Unsplash

Jokes were passed around

Deflection

Anything to avoid processing what we saw

Detachment

*

Then the drinking got worse

Disconnecting stopped working

The memories flooded back

Emotions of anger, bitterness and regret steamrolled through me

*

By Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

I was back in Afghanistan

Back to that moment of pain

A moment I thought I had drowned

But you can't drown a memory

You only drown yourself

*

Healing can finally happen

When I admit I’m not okay

I know I can't forget

But I can come to a place of acceptance

*

We were soldiers once

We had purpose

What we did mattered and it always will

We knew great pain

But we also knew great love and compassion

I served in Afghanistan 2013-2014 with some of the best Men and Women Ive ever known. I am sad and disappointed over the outcome of what happened in current news. However, I will never claim that we did anything but our best over there. What we did mattered. Everyone paid a different price coming home, and that hurt each and everyone of us. Some felt like it wasnt worth it, and alot of regrets were developed because of it.

social commentary
7

About the Creator

Matthew Mccahey

I want to use stories and life experiences to allow others to be open about their own.

https://linktr.ee/Authormack729

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.