Poets logo

Memories Lost!

If I never throw anything out surely they’ll be here somewhere…

By Gillian Lesley ScottPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
8
Authors own picture

My stomach dropped to my boots

Where are they?

What a stupid thing to lose

Are they still in this home of ours?

Some believe they steal your soul

But these photos meant the world to me

So where are they? Where can they be?

I must have put them somewhere safe

So safe it can’t be detected now.

My wedding album. What a thing to lose

How?

Never throwing a thing away

Should keep things safe

But it hasn’t worked in this case, hey?

Buried under a pile of things

I might need one day

I can only hope they still safely lie

Beneath the household bedlam

Of overcoats and books

I’m almost scared to look

In case that’s still untrue

But look I will

Oh thank goodness

I can see the battered box from here

Within another box that’s clear

See, I did put them somewhere safe

Free from flood or weather

The pictures taken on that far off day we officially got together.

love poems
8

About the Creator

Gillian Lesley Scott

Scots born Australian. Tales of being human. Despite aiming for the highest good of all, not always successful

https://www.instagram.com//gillesleyscott//

https://www.facebook.com/gillian.l.scott

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.